In Praise of Timers

Recently I posted about my daughter’s love of Cinderella and all things princess. That obsession hasn’t really abated. I wish I had her enthusiasm for the topic, but alas, I do not. Maybe if she would let me vary the plot once in a while, but she sticks stubbornly to the script.

big cinderella

This is the exchange between Ophelia, the naughty princess (a Lego) and Cinderella.
Cinderella: Hi, my name is Cinderella.
Ophelia: I don’t think princesses. Go away.
Cinderella: Waaaa!
Ophelia’s Mom (a Little People): Ophelia, you have to be nice. Go to time out and apologize.
Ophelia: I’m sorry. Will you be my friend?
Cinderella: Yes. (hug, hug, hug)

ophelia

Over and over and over.

Sometimes I suggest Ophelia and Cinderella or Belle or Tiana go to a ball or on a picnic or something like that, but once they get there, it’s the same script. So here’s what I’ve done to keep my sanity. I agree to play with her for a set amount of time—say, 20 minutes. I set the timer and play whatever she wants for 20 minutes. Sometimes she just wants me to sit there with her while she plays. Sometimes I have to play all the characters. The main rule is that she gets to lead the play and I have to give her 100% of my attention. I don’t answer the phone, or check email, or pick up toys. I play.

Then the timer goes off and I’m free—I mean, I have a little time to do something I need to do. Baby Galen has embraced the timer. She’ll say, “Mama, come play! Get the timer.”

Do you have any suggestions for balancing play time and the other mom chores?

6 thoughts on “In Praise of Timers

  1. Baby Galen is so cute! My 15yr old daughter was standing over my shoulder as I was reading this, and it made me miss the times that I got to play with my two older kids (son is almost 17, and daughter is 15). My younger two are ages 11 and 7 (both boys). I love the idea of the timer, and it seems Baby Galen has embraced the parameters of the timer. One of the things I used to do, even when the kids were toddlers, was include them in doing some of the chores around the house. Mind you, things didn’t get done fast, nor did they get done the way I would like them, but I learned to loosen up my standards. For instance, the laundry: my youngest son wanted to help with the laundry (he was only 2), and even though it took 5x longer, he helped. Now at age 7 he knows how to run the washer and the dryer and run the dishwasher, all because he wanted to spend some time with his momma while she did chores. BTW, hubby still doesn’t know how to run those machines–so I told him to ask the 7yr old to show him how it’s done. 🙂

    Like

  2. Baby Galen is adorable! It’s such a sweet stage in that they never get tired of repeating a certain game over and over. While you may become weary with the repetition, she will certainly remember how her Mom would play the game with her. Making memories!

    Like

  3. Yes, timers work well at my house too. Even when I’m not involved – we use them to let the girls how much time they have to play before cleaning up or this is how much time you have left to eat your whatever before it’s bedtime. And child-led play is really the best way to bond with a kiddo. Sounds like you’re doing everything just right, Shana.

    Like

    • Yay! I’m doing everything right 🙂 I am going to have to use the timer more to let her know when it’s time to clean up or change activities. That might make transitions smoother.

      Like

Comments are closed.