What’s Keeping You Busy?

busy-quote-1160x773

My question of the day is: What’s keeping you busy?

Like most weeks, my calendar is pretty full. But, it’s mostly full of blessings.

Sure, there’s some stuff I’d like to erase from my “To Do” list, a few things I’m not looking forward to dealing with, but I strive really hard to remind myself that those not-so-fun To Do’s will only serve to make the really fun things that much better.

So, I thought it would be fun to take a look at our calendars and share a little about what we find filling them up.

With mine, you’ll find that I tend to spend a lot of time with my family,
family-pic_opt

my girlfriends,
girl-time

socializing with friends,
PL576EveryHourMartiniB.eps

and exercising (this one needs to get on my calendar more often).
you-need-to-exercise

There’s also rarely a week that goes by when I’m not attending some type of volunteer event or meeting.
volunter

But I also try to remember, amidst the hustle and bustle of my life, take care of myself.

Time to regroup, listen to my thoughts, enjoy a good book.
alone-time

Which is why I try to add a little quiet or alone time to my calendar.
time for what makes you happy
Some weeks I’m better at this than others.

And at the end of the day, when I’m snuggling under my blankets in bed, after racing along checking things off my To Do list, I really hope I don’t forget this mantra:
love urself

So, what’s filling up your calendar this week? Something fun you wanna share? Something important you’d like us to think good thoughts about for you?

I hope you have time to stop by and share!

7 thoughts on “What’s Keeping You Busy?

  1. I love your calendar, Pris! It’s what mine *should* look like, but I’ve been so busy lately, the calendar is a little skimpy on the taking care of me and exercise parts. I will strive to do better. Thank you for this reminder and inspiration!

    Like

    • Pintip, I didn’t mention the day job and writing on my calendar, those are just a given. 🙂

      Like I said, some weeks I’m not so good at the “taking care of me” moments, either. And I really need to make sure I add “sleep” in there, too! 🙂

      I figure, we’re all a work in progress. As long as we keep trying our best, that’s all we can do! Have an AWESOME day!

      Like

  2. Thanks for this, Pris, I think as moms, and women in general, we tend to forget to allot time for ourselves and the things that give us joy. Much needed reminder.

    Like

    • I think the most important thing for all women– young or old, high school or college or beyond– is to love ourselves. In this day and age of the media pushing an image that isn’t necessarily realistic, it’s kind of easy to get sucked into thinking maybe some part of ourselves doesn’t measure up.

      So, at the end of your day, even if you only find 1 minute to pause and look at yourself in the mirror before bed, remind yourself how amazing you are!! 🙂

      Like

  3. My calendar is mostly filled with work and kid stuff, like after school activities and birthday parties. Right now we’re going through the application process for Kindergarten. We live in a district that allows choice as far as where kids go. That’s taken a lot of time to research and understand.

    Like

    • Goodness, applications for kindergarten. My how times have changed since my girls were younger. Well, I guess you can think of it as practice for when she’s applying to colleges and you help. There’s your silver lining in the midst of the research and applications. 🙂

      Good luck with the process!

      Like

  4. House work! Or maybe more accurately, feeling guilty about not doing housework. 🙂 I’m trying to balance that with writing time, exercise time, and childcare time. My second (and last) is in part time preschool this year and hopefully full time next year. I can’t wait! I’ve never been a very good juggler of time.

    Like

Comments are closed.